New Journey Series : What happened in 2015

I never wrote anything for my New Journey Series in 2015. Applause. Haha How I wish the reason why I wasn’t able to write anything is because my problem is over. My debts were all paid. I have closed my credit cards. I’m debt free. The truth however is I’m still tied up. Please don’t send me all the blame in the world. For the longest time, I knew it was my fault. I don’t need another person to remind and emphasise it again, again and again.

I haven’t been using my credit cards. Truth. It was only during the last months of 2015 when I was able to use it. All my transactions were paid in cash in 2015. Problem is, the debt accumulated because I got a second insurance policy. I don’t have intentions of acquiring another insurance. Not this time yet. My financial focus was to settle all the credit card balances. However, back in the last quarter of 2014, I helped a friend who was a starting financial adviser / agent of this insurance company. The insurance policy payment was auto enrolled in my credit card. The disadvantage which I later realised, it was easier not to pay. I missed some monthly payments. And given that my card has previous balances, everything accumulated and the next time I woke up, I messed up again.

The only positive development I had in 2015 happened in one of my credit card. I loan a particular amount of money and used it to pay out all the balances for this card. I still have a little to pay. But soon enough, I would be able to kill this card. 🙂

When I started the series a few years ago, I forecasted that I will be able to pay all my debts this year… at this age. If I had only been consistent and disciplined, I’m about to be debt free. I’m about to gain my financial freedom. Almost, I ruined my own plan.

This year, I will not make so much promises anymore. I’m still crafting another game plan for this. Hopefully it will work. I wish I will have all the discipline in the world. Likewise, I hope I have more than enough freelance works to enable my plan. What I initially wanted is to divert all my freelance earnings for credit card payment this year. I’ll probably treat myself for items less than Php 1,000. It can’t exceed beyond this point.

My 2015 was not good. Much of the negative things happened in my career and a few relationships. I trusted the wrong people, it ruined me. The silver lining though, I was able to filter who were my real friends are.

I don’t want to live forever like this. Things will get better for me.

Leave a comment