December

More than halfway December, a few more days before Christmas.

December has always been my favorite month. My birthday falls on December, it’s Christmas, soon it will be New Year’s Eve and more importantly I have my two-week holiday break from work.

Yesterday was my birthday. I took a leave from work. Same as what I did last year. Although last year, I have to admit. I didn’t like how I spend my birthday. I cleaned my room. Ordered food delivery for the family. That’s it. Nothing special, significant and memorable. This year, I almost had the same fate. I didn’t report for work. But deep inside, I’m willing to report for work even though it’s my birthday. The shallowest reason why I decided to skip work is because I don’t want to have a lonesome lunch break. I don’t want to eat on my own during my birthday. I feel sad and pathetic. Ever since my lunch buddy left for another company, lunch breaks are done on my own. I’d like to believe I’m getting used to this. People might think so. But really, I’ve been dreading having lonely lunch breaks for almost two years. What I often do to divert the loneliness, I spend the first few minutes eating and take a quick nap. Sometimes, I use the time to pay bills, visit the post office and run to some quick errands.

I spent my birthday at home with my family. I initially planned to attend my morning classes then head straight home. Unfortunately, there’s this unusual typhoon disturbance in December?! As of date, my dearest country is still stricken by typhoon Nona and news relate that there’s another upcoming storm surge. What’s with the weather? How come we experience this weather disturbances in December?

I thought I will be having the same old and sad birthday. I will be stuck at home. I was forced to go out when I learned that my lone living grandfather was rushed to the hospital. I spent the entire afternoon with him in the hospital with my cousin. I went home, ordered a nice dinner for my family (Thank you Yellow Cab for the fast and reliable service) and wrote a post in my other blog. I surfed the ‘net and wasted a lot of time deciding whether I should buy Madewell’s Glassgow Satchel. Dear God, shopaholic hormones are attacking me. I didn’t pursue the purchase. πŸ™‚ Although I wouldn’t deny that I’m always visiting Madewell’s site everyday, hoping to squeeze in more discount offer from the company.

My Facebook wall has been fed by birthday greetings. Some were surprises from good old friends, whom I thought have already forgotten me. A day before my birthday, I treated my two remaining friends at the workplace for Dinner. It used to be four of us. Now we are only three, one is I believe, about to leave. Sigh….

I only applied for a day of birthday leave. But since the weather has been really disturbing, work was suspended (perks of working for a school). I stayed home the entire day today…. while being attacked by the worst dysmenorrhea. What a way to end the last month of the year.

I ordered a vintage globe from this reseller from OLX.ph for my nook project.Β And dear God, I regret dealing with her. When I was inquiring about the payment scheme, it took her some time to reply. I always sent multiple messages to finally hear a reply. Apparently, she’s claiming she was busy attending a trade fair. Fine. Come Monday, she texted, rushing me to make the payment. Okay, I followed her demands. During my birthday, she informed that JRS suddenly charged her with humongous fees. F*ck! I suggested she look for cheaper couriers. She didn’t give me updates. I have to remind her today. She told me, she was unsuccessful looking for alternatives. She said, she will just return my money. F*ck again. This pissed me off. On my end, I did everything to pay her the soonest. On her end, it seems to me that it was so easy for her to give up. She called me and mentioned all this blahblahblah… I offered that we share the “expensive” shipping fee. She refused. She offered instead to meet me after Christmas. But she never gave the exact date. Now I regret dealing with her. So unprofessional. If I were in her shoes, I would keep my words. My business may suffer losses from the expensive shipping fees but the thing is, I knew I was able to deliver what I promised. I’m an ebay seller btw. So don’t judge me to be a self-centered buyer.

Anyway, my birthday wish for the longest time is to receive and blow my own birthday cake. I didn’t have it this year again. The last time I had a birthday cake was in 2010. I even bought my own cake. Hahaha Technically, the last time someone gave me a cake and everyone sang the most unadulterated birthday song was when I turned 18 years. Gaaahd, more than a decade. My Auntie gifted me with a cute birthday cake. πŸ™‚ Maybe tomorrow when I return for work, I’ll drop by Starbucks and treat myself with an expensive and pathetic slice. I swear if someone will surprise me with a birthday cake and candle, I will never forget that person. I will treasure you for the rest of my life. πŸ™‚

Before I totally ruin myself again πŸ™‚ I should tell myself to be thankful because I’m blessed with a freelance work. Hopefully I’ll finish this before Xmas day and my client pays earlier as well. That way, it will never be a broke Xmas for me.

5 comments

  1. Belated happy birthday Diane! Seems to me that you’re having a productive birth month this year. πŸ™‚ And oh, merry Christmas too. I think your impulse shopping has been justified; birthday and christmas all in the same month? You really deserve all the good stuff you’ve bought. hihi

  2. Happy birthday Diane! If we are close in proximity, I’ve probably given you a cute cake on your birthday. πŸ™‚ I’m also a sucker for cakes, you know. And oh, merry Christmas! πŸ™‚ Cheers!

    1. Hi Dawn!!!! I will already claim the cake. πŸ™‚ Thank you for thinking of sending me one. I’ve been cake deprived these years.

      Merry Xmas to you and your little one too. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the comment. I really appreciate it!

    2. Hi Dawn! Thank you so much. I once overheard from a fellow commuter joking that in their workplace, the birthday cake defines your purpose of existence. No birthday cake = none existence at the workplace. Hahahaha I don’t know if I should laugh or not. Haven’t visited your blog, I feel guilty because you have been giving me nice and uplifting comments. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

