Feeding the hungry fishes

My paternal family is recently burdened by my cousin who seem to be engaged to some not-so-good activities. My cousin was laid off from her job and as you can sense it, something bad happened that forced her to lose her job. After this incident, the entire family is starting to discover things that we never imagined to happen. End of details, I’m not sure if any of my other relatives are secretly accessing and reading my blog.

While the other details and underlying reasons behind my cousin’s behavior still remains to be a mystery to my family, I’m quite surprised how other distant relatives seem to be informed of my paternal family’s little predicament. My cousin is partly to blame because we were later surprised with relatives, who confirmed my cousin’s attempts to borrow money. There were those who left us with harsh words and one who gave a very HUMANE suggestion to resolve my cousin’s situation.

Mag GRO na lang kaya siya, eh kung mahilig naman pala siya lumabas kapag gabi.

Given that this relative is a mother to a daughter, I never imagined how she could utter such words. I hope she realizes that even the females in the said profession never wished to be there. If given the chance, no female would ever wanted to land in that state. Oh well, this supports my self-proclaimed theory that motherhood does not guarantee maturity and better-people-in-the-making.

More than the harsh words, I’m quite agitated with my cousin being used as the focal point of all the gossipers among my distant (and pardon the term, jobless) relatives. There was one instance when my auntie received a call from this jobless distant relative. At first, this relative was asking auntie if they have visited the wake of a known family acquaintance. Auntie thought it was a call of concern. Only to later discover the real intention of the phone call. This relative was asking why my cousin was laid off from her job. It was so obvious that relative already knew the story behind everything. The gossiper was hungry for confirmation. The fish needs to be fed. And probably, feeding her gossip hungry stomach was part of her own Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.

I don’t know the science behind gossiping. Although I admit that sometimes I get entertained listening with the pieces of information it yields, albeit unconfirmed and exaggerated. I will not claim to have clean hands or in this case, ears. But what I know for sure, I don’t find happiness and entertainment gossiping the predicament and agony of other people, especially with friends, acquaintances, relatives and most of all, family. There’s nothing fulfilling and self-enriching about gossiping. It doesn’t make me smarter, richer and more importantly (talking about my own set of problems), it doesn’t lessen my credit card balances. Even at the workplace, gossiping does not earn me points for promotion, merit incentive and deduct minutes from my tardiness. I also adhere to the principle of placing myself in the shoes of the victim or the subject of gossips. On those instances I’m burdened and troubled with problems and negative circumstances, it wouldn’t surely help when I discovered that I’m the subject of everyone’s story telling activities.

Leave a Reply

