Easy money

A few months ago, a cousin introduced me to this company that accepts monetary investments. In the course of our discussion, it appealed to me as another classic multi-level marketing company. One has to invest quite a significant amount of money, in exchange for products and higher rate of return on investment. A few weeks later, my other cousins started to invest. Most of them released an average of Php 20,000 as initial investment. The child of my cousin invested around Php 8,000 and currently, his investment is already valued around Php 12,000. Another cousin invested Php 37,000 and gained earnings worth Php 17,000. Wow! I was amazed by the fast growth and movement of their investments. If the money has been placed inside the bank, there is no way to reach such level of earnings.

I don’t want to play the role of the antagonist. I didn’t utter any negative thoughts. Being an immediate family, I didn’t escape their offer and persuasion to join them. Despite all their positive testimonials, I’m convinced not to invest for many reasons. One boils down to the simple reason that I’m broke. I cannot anymore pullout funds from my very slim savings / emergency account. I can source out from my Pag-ibig and SSS salary loan but I figured out, I need to settle the pending credit card bills instead. The second and real reason behind everything, I don’t trust this earning and investment scheme.  I have another set of reasons why I never trust the system and the company. Let me enumerate and explain my own thoughts.

The company where they invested their money is less than a year old.

The company maybe managed by the best people but the age of the company raises my level of doubt. My cousin told me that most of the employees were former employees of other multi-level marketing companies. Hence, the experiences are more than enough to make them trust the company. While I value and respect expertise, I find the investment schemes very aggressive for a starting company. If it is true that the company also makes other investments, I find it quite fast that they were able to easily earn and issue payback earnings.

The company only has three products

All the while I thought the company is selling a plethora of expensive beauty products and vitamin supplements. I was surprised when I checked the company’s website. I found only three beauty products claiming to have natural Japanese herb extracts. If they only have three products, how come they were able to easily return the investors’ money? I don’t even see their products in the market or being reviewed by those beauty bloggers. Good as their products seem to be non-existent to me. You see, if they have a lot of monetary investments, why can’t they expand their product line and distribution channels?

The company’s board of directors /management committee are not listed in the corporate website

This further raised my level of doubt to the company. Why hide the management team? The company seem to rely on their persuasive investment recruiters.  They have a mission, vision, core values … which by the way sounds too ambitious and lousy for me. I maybe overreacting but the quality of writing of their mission, vision and core values is the same as the writing of first time college kiddies.

And as you can sense it, everything is too good to be true for me

I cannot understand how the company is able to generate such amount of earnings given that they only have a few products, the products are not famous, members are not required to sell, members are not compelled to recruit.

So how does the earnings happen? If such is the case, how come the company is able to easily return the money of the investors? The way I see it, the company uses the money of the incoming investors, to pay the existing investors. As long as there are new and growing investors, the company will be able to pay their existing investors.

I maybe wrong. It’s possible that the company has the best intentions after all. But as for me, I’m firm with my personal belief that

what comes easy, won’t last long

what lasts long, won’t come easy

 

2 comments

  1. here in the US, some people involved in this scheme were indicted and later jailed for propagating this kind of scheme. They call it a Ponzi scheme. you’re right about the earnings. the gio them from other people’s investment. I don’t know why this still works on so many people.

Leave a Reply

