What does the fox say? – Why I’m thankful for having strict bosses Part II

Warning : Some words in the title are not related to the post. Read (at your own risk) to find out 🙂

A few months ago, I wrote the reasons why I am thankful for having strict bosses. In a nutshell, I could say that strict bosses brought out the best in me. They gave me my own dose of stress and worries but at the end of the day, they made feel that I can make things happen.

I’m writing this post at 5:22 pm, a few more minutes and I can already call it a day. I’m feeling saturated with my documentation project. I can no longer write. It has to be over for today. I closed all Office programs and decided to write a blog post instead.

I’m writing about a colleague whose inefficiency challenged my hard earned patience. Teaching taught me how to lengthen my patience. I guess its easier in teaching because I deal with kids who have yet to learn everything. But when dealing with colleagues, it’s another complicated dish of patience to be studied and prepared.

It started when HE has been accumulating minor shortcomings. Phone calls that were not relayed, letters and memoranda that are accumulated on his desk and his favorite hobby of passing tasks to our working scholars.

A few weeks ago, Colleague A was asking a copy of this particular report. He was the custodian but since he was not around, I took the initiative to leave a note on his desk. A few weeks after, I bumped to Colleague A and asked if she was able to secure the documents. I was surprised with Colleague A’s response. There was no return call or notification. Being the concerned employee, I confronted my “very efficient” colleague. The “very efficient colleague” replied, the document was not with me. I CAN’T DO ANYTHING. In my mind, wtf#$%! So, we have to end there? I did my secret investigation (don’t ask me how) and turns out, ALL THE DOCUMENTS WERE FORWARDED to him. What does the fox (pronounced same as the previous bad word) say? Since I’ve been bitching here, allow me to totally vent out and enumerate all his sins

  1. He got all the front row seats when all the laziness was bestowed from above.
  2. He has poor file management, considering that he was a Secretary and Program Coordinator (What does the fox say?) for more than 10 years.
  3. He is the best lifeguard…. to himself. He deserves an award for being great in saving his huge and inefficient ass. In local parlance, ang galing mo manlaglag ng tao ‘pre. You have full expertise on know how to save yourself in expense of other people.
  4. Liar! Ktnxbye.

It later dawned me the real reason why he acquired all these awards. HE NEVER HAD A STRICT BOSS IN HIS ENTIRE LIFETIME. He was pampered in the softest mattress, abundant pillows, cushioned and comfiest linens. In my case, my strict bosses’ orders and commands became my lullaby. I was thrown in the ocean and forced to swim for survival. Suffice to say, I had my own share of the worst.

Okay, I’m being too harsh now. Let this day serve as another milestone when my borders of patience has been granted extension.

2 thoughts on “What does the fox say? – Why I’m thankful for having strict bosses Part II

Leave a Reply

