Books that made my 2013

bookaholic

Not in the photo
The Fault in our Stars by John Green
Looking for Alaska by John Green
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Young Blood 4

Aside from flat shoes, bags and clothes, these books have taken away a significant amount of my hard earned salary. They were my everyday commuting companions, partner in bed (heehee), source of both sadness and happiness and one of the reasons why I still have something to blog.

All books were purchased from my personal money, except John Green’s Looking for Alaska. If I sum the expenditures, I could have already purchased a nice set of my much coveted pearl earrings, weekend stay in Tagaytay, new mobile phone to as much as a promo fare ticket to Hong Kong, Macau or Malaysia. Now this gives me some feelings of regret? 🙂

Setting aside the expenditures, my personal target is to finish a book in a month. This pile of books is my shouting evidence that I made it. I might be unsuccessful in other things but with my reading target, I was able to exceed my personal expectation. The only thing I failed to accomplish is to blog and review each. Blame my laziness and dissatisfaction to a few. I still made reviews with unsatisfactory ratings but the rest received nothing but my appreciation.

For 2014, I intend to sustain the same target. I hope to finish at least 12 books next year. While I still prefer my paperbacks, I would love to utilise all the e-books stored in my iPad. It can save me enough  money and space inside my bag. My only problem with e-books is that I can’t read them during my commuting hours. I can’t take out my iPad inside the jeepney that passes through Quiapo and Recto Avenue. (My fellow Pinoy commuters can relate.) If I read inside the train, I will gain sharp glances from fellow passengers. They will think of me as someone who just wants to brag her Apple device. If I read in bed, my eyes get easily exhausted with the built-in light. On weekends, I always end up sleeping during the lazy afternoons.

Whether in print or electronic, my love for reading will remain. I’m looking forward to discover more titles and authors to inspire and keep me company.

In my wishful thinking … maybe I can write one someday… Fine, I need someone to slap and return me back to reality 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Books that made my 2013

  1. I miss buying paperbacks! I love love love to read also but ever since I bought a Kindle, I stopped buying paperbacks na. I download everything na lang, sigh! Good luck on your next year’s reading challenge! 🙂

  2. if i may suggest, instead of buying books, why don’t you just borrow them from the library? the more books you buy, the more they own you. i mean, they start crowding your space leaving you less room to move around.

    • i used to to do that. but the main disadvantage, i often end up forgetting the due date of the books 😀 there was a time i paid Php 300 for overdue books. i felt my knees weakened because that could have been spent for a great meal.

Leave a Reply

