For M and L

I can’t believe it’s been eight years. After I obtained my permanency status at work, I immediately applied for admission to the Graduate School. At an early age, I was very eager to make things happen. I enrolled a number of subjects because I wanted to acquire my masteral degree in the soonest possible time. Little do I know, life at the Graduate School will lead me to another world of happiness.

After burning bridges with some good old friends, I was rewarded with another set of supportive friends. Cheesy and cliché as it may sound but I considered those semesters as one of the best years of my life.

Unfortunately, those years of happiness ended abruptly. After taking our comprehensive examination, everyone in the group went with their own plans. L was the first to graduate. In my case, I decided to take things slow. I took my time to write that grueling thesis and graduated the year after.

Since then, the group never became complete again. I tried to organize reunions only to frustrate myself because no one dared to respond to my invitation. A year after, L asked me to organize another reunion. The feeling of frustration was still thriving in me. Hence, I did my own share of selfish revenge. I secretly prayed the she will feel the same amount of rejection and frustration. L can never play the role of the best event organizer and my expectations prevailed.

The years prospered and everyone went on with their lives. In the middle of the previous year, M surprised me with her upcoming wedding. It came as a blessing because I was able to relieve and spend some moments with M. I wanted to spend more time with M, but I can’t take her away from her most awaited day.

During M’s wedding, L shared her recent source of happiness. L is engaged! Time flies so fast because it’s been months since L got married.

If only I had been given more time with M and L, I wanted to tell them how much I miss them. All the more I miss them now.

I hope they still remember those Saturdays when we attend the anticipated mass. We would arrive early and caught the last few moments of the wedding rites either in San Agustin or the Manila Cathedral. While wearing our faded jeans and comfy shirts, we would watch the happy bride and her equally fulfilled groom. Each of us had that rare trace of smile accompanied by a silent dream. The happy ending, the fairy tale, which both of you already have.

The way it sounds, yes this is another emotional post. This serves as an aftermath of my previous post. This is again brought by my fear of being left out.

I know that you two are having the best time of your lives. I don’t anymore want to bother both of you with my recurring and agitating quarter life crisis. Let this post serve as my regular venting channel.

I wish you the continuous and overflowing happiness. If time will come that you will remember me, a prayer will be enough. While I still wish for my own happiness, the least that I can ask now is the assurance that whatever happens, everything will be fine.

One comment

  1. I wish you well and success in your endeavors. I think I understand your worries about what’s in store for you. I think about that too, but I try to take life one day at a time… and and there’s some dating sites. ^__^ And check out medical insurance while you’re still young.

Leave a Reply

