I’m quiet but not silent

Back in my Elementary and High School days, I made this conclusion that all great writers tend to alienate themselves to everyone. Most of the time they are quiet, alone, staring away to nowhere and unfriendly. In one word, ALOOF. They will never communicate and reach out unless someone dares to break their solitude. Not that I’m stereotyping all writers. This was my observation to my schoolmates who excel in writing. My aloof classmates often receive praises from English teachers and tapped to join contests. My self-theory was strengthened when I discussed this observation to a friend at the workplace. Her cousin, who was producing critically acclaimed novels (which we can’t appreciate and understand), sets to be a perfect case from our self-theory.

If this is a main requisite among the great writers, I would proudly become an elite member. I don’t have the skills and talent in writing. I will only be qualified by virtue of possessing the solitary attitude.

My solitary image has unfortunately caused me some troubles. Whoever says that being quiet or minding your own business is the safest ground is so wrong .. at least in my case.

The initial impressions I often receive from other people are

I’m a quiet and silent person.

I can”t talk.

Hindi makabasag pinggan (Can’t shatter or break plates – A Filipino idiomatic expression which means that a person is shy, timid, demure or reserved)

Yes, I was like that in my entire years of studies. I only learned to express myself and reach out to more people in college. Other than that, I was always the quiet person in family reunions and parties.

My quiet personality later caused some people to tag me as snobbish, insensitive, useless, introvert, and aloof. I act differently so I don’t belong. This always happens during family reunions. At the workplace however, I can redeem myself because of my constant communication and coordination tasks with other offices.

Some of my cousins may not admit it, but I know. They don’t like me. Who would ever want a boring, serious and lifeless person in the group? You see, I get discriminated just because my mouth doesn’t utter words. Some of them even went surprised when they discovered that I dabble as a part time college instructor. Comments like; Really? Oh, she does talks?

Truth is, I also feel upset when other people see me in a negative way … More so, when they create stories and attempt to explain my quiet personality.

Here’s what I have to say,

Yes. I’m quiet but never silent.

I may not express my thoughts through words and sounds. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have thoughts. I’m not substance empty if that’s what your shallow thoughts tell you. I simply prefer to quietly process things and express my thoughts in writing. You see, the world is already full of noise. I don’t want to contribute more.

It is also during my quiet and lone times when I can finally read a book , rest and escape myself from all the hassles of my everyday life. I wanted peace and tranquility. For some reason, deep and meaningful thoughts start to thrive in me when I’m enclosed in a rather quiet and peaceful environment.

Lastly, I would like to believe that quiet people are the most genuine persons in the planet. They don’t play pretend and show that false positive attitudes. In the mind of a quiet person, she would simply ignore the existence of people she doesn’t like.

My only plea to those who have been discriminating the quiet individuals, let’s part ways and continue with our own endeavors.

Stop the useless talks, I prefer to write and keep quiet.

I believe that’s simple enough to be processed by your shallow thoughts…

One comment

  1. This has proved true in my experience too. I’ve been labelled snobby or bitchy because I don’t say much. The truth is if I know you and feel comfortable, I can babble like the most gregarious of individuals. Still, I need time in my little bubble of introversion.

Leave a Reply

