Reviewed! The Perks of Being a Wallflower

After so many weeks, I’m finally done reading this book.

perks

Let me identify the lame reason why it took me so long to finish this book.  I bought it in time for the holiday.  Before my long awaited work break, I was forced to attend a number of Christmas parties and I was rushing some teaching works.  (This made me remember that I have papers pending for checking. Goodbye piggy life days!) I always come home late and as a result, I have nothing to brag except for my sleeping hours.

My favorite place to read is whenever I’m inside the train. Unfortunately, I was always sleepy over the past months. The last reason why I wasn’t motivated to finish the book is because my cousin accidentally relayed to me the core of the story.  I was successful in preventing myself to google the story’s ending. But destiny played some naughty games with me. Instead of getting annoyed with my cousin, we actually just laughed about it.

My expectations for this book was way different from the story.  I thought the book was some ordinary teenage beach read.  I thought of it as a light read that can entertain and tickle my hopeless romantic hormones.  It was surprisingly a deep and moving story of an ordinary teenage kid who decided to overcome an extraordinary experience.

What I appreciate most about the book is the raw and shallow presentation of everything. The words used were so direct and simple.  The entire story was presented in the eyes of an innocent kid who is crossing the bridge of his teenage years. I guess another reason why I love the book is because I can see myself in one of Charlie’s experiences.  Charlie struggled with issues on sex, drugs while balancing friends, family and schooling.  One of Charlie’s experiences I can perfectly relate is his observations about his family. This particular line made me laugh for a while

I am very interested and fascinated by how everyone loves each other but no one really likes each other.

This perfectly works in the case of some of my relatives.

What makes the book unique is how Charlie narrated his life. The entire story was related through a letter. Charlie was writing letters to an anonymous friend. What makes Charlie’s ordinary life turn extraordinary was his experience that affected his entire growth. Unfortunately, this was the part that my cousin accidentally blurted out to me.

If I would rate Stephen Chbosky’s book, I’ll give it 4 out of 5 stars. I love the story, the presentation and what was supposedly an unexpected ending.  Even though  I wouldn’t know the ending, I believe that I will give the book the same excellent rating.

Leave a Reply

