Balcony

Ever since I was a kid, I wished for my own room with its own balcony.

We used to live within the compound of my paternal grandparent’s property. Together with the families of my uncles and aunties, our huge family is cramped in the only real estate property of my paternal grandparents.  Our house then was a bungalow that has a secret door and passageway to my grandparent’s house. haha I always boast that feature of our house to my playmates. It was like having a magical castle in your own home.

When I was around 8 years old, my late grandma won some amount of money from the local lottery.  To clarify though, my grandma never won the grand million prize. How I wish! She won just enough money to give inheritance to my uncles and aunties.  My father’s share was used to purchase our second home.

A year after, we moved to our new house with one of my maternal aunties. From a one bedroom bungalow, we moved to a two-storey house with two bedrooms. The other bedroom was obviously intended for me because my special brother can’t move away from my parents.

At the age of 9, I have my own room and it felt like I had my first taste of independence.  After more than 15 years, I don’t know if I should be ashamed or proud to say that I still sleep in the same room.

While I equally value my own space at home, the dream of having my own balcony still thrives in me.  Our most cherished home can still accommodate some renovation for my much coveted balcony. However, the other major problem is the view I could generate from my balcony.  The back of our house was entirely covered with a four-storey public school building.  I work for a school and I surely don’t want to wake up with a view of another school. The remaining window of my room could already accommodate  a view of some trees and the everyday sky. Unfortunately, the view is spoiled by a neighbor whom we tagged as the happy family. They are happy with their everyday quarrel, exchange of harsh words and flying objects as early as 4 am. Sigh.. When will I have my own balcony? I guess the better question is, will I ever have my own balcony?

Photo Source linked

While my dream balcony is way impossible from reality, the dream surprisingly gave me more than enough lessons about life. One, you cannot get what you really want. There will always be people who will hinder your dream. These hindrances maybe intentional or unintentional. At the end of the day, the fulfillment of a dream is a combination of hardwork, patience, waiting and a little dose of luck and circumstances.

6 thoughts on “Balcony

  1. Sad part is.. “There will always be people who will hinder your dream.” Hayy. Pero keep on going. Keep on dreaming, one day you’ll have your dream come true. 😀 At dream ko din yan ganyang kwarto, wish I would have that one as well. 😉

  2. haay, that’s life my friend..Patience is a virtue as they say and I know we have that.We can wait for things to happen it may not be now but it may be tomorrow.Who knows? we just have to wait and I believe in that because LIFE is all about waiting..Nice one dear.

Leave a Reply

