For bitter and better

I grew up in a neighborhood having playmates whose parents work abroad. Even in the province where my mother came from, I have seen neighbors whose family members, either parents or children,  are identified as Overseas Filipino Workers (OFW).

One thing I have noticed among my so-called OFW neighbors is their economic elevation. They have bigger and taller houses, more appliances, chocolates and all those imported goodies.  Did I get envious? Yes I was guilty of being blinded with those material wealth.  I grew up in a simple home. Most of the things we have at home are locally produced furniture pieces and a few of the basic appliances. While my upscale neighbors have a full blast Sony component, we were settled with small cassette player.  They have gigantic  TVs, we still have the classic Sharp “knob” TV.  My playmates have a Nintendo GameBoy, I own a pathetic China Brick  Game.

The  pathetic, loser and envious person in me further prevails whenever I see them receiving a huge box of happiness. Whenever a DHL delivery van arrives, I know that my playmates are again in heaven. Each kid has a toy to brag and their kitchen shelves are suddenly filled up with those colorful cans. Sometimes, I can even smell the aroma of those imported luncheon meat and corned beef.

I once wished that either of my parents are OFWs too. I was hoping to experience receiving those imported and expensive goodies too. As a kid, I was centered on the idea of wealth in material things.  On those days,  it never came in my mind that I was actually in a better off position. I can live without having the need to sacrifice the presence of my parents.

When I started working, I thought I finally got over the idea of being envious with friends and neighbors, who have OFWs in their families. As it turns out, the enviousness mutated to self-pity and frustrations.

I started to develop these hard feelings whenever I see the extent of economic advancement they have contributed to their families. While they contribute that much, I could only offer this much to my family.  I felt so futile and pathetic.

Before, I was an envious and selfish loser. I envy my OFW empowered neighbors because they have more than what I have.  Now that I am a grown up, the same feelings still prevailed. However, the reason for my self-imposed bitterness emanates from the fact that I can’t provide more than what they can provide.

4 comments

  1. I am sure your parents are very proud of you. You are doing an excellent job. And as long as you become the good person and a responsible citizen they have raised, I am sure that you ahve paid them back more than what the OFWs could ever have provided their parents.

Leave a Reply

