Happy at Il Mercanti

One of my constant goals in life is to visit new places. At the very least, one new place for each year. 2011 has been very good to me in fulfilling this objective. I was able to see other places in my homeland and I was able to finally set foot to another country for the first time, ON MY OWN. If only my time and resources will permit, I am highly willing to venture and invest in traveling. I now realize the different value of experiences than shopping and malling. LOL The happiness in being able to reach new places is indeed priceless.

Before the much awaited Christmas break at work, I had this practice of inviting my small group of friends to see a new place or attraction in the city. Last year, I invited my colleagues turned friends, Abigail, Ate Weng and Terry to experience Banchetto in Ortigas. Banchetto is the pioneer in the trending food night market in Manila. After my trip to Taiwan, tons of teaching works were waiting for me so I forgot to organize an annual mini escapade for us. However, another friend was kind enough to invite me to try another food night market. A day after my birthday, we went to Il Mercanti.

Il Mercanti joins the bandwagon of the well loved food night market which was organized by a group of friends who are all food enthusiasts. It is located in the heart of Metrowalk in Pasig.  

Il Mercanti starts at 7 pm, earlier and better than other food night markets that make you wait until midnight.

The food selection at Il Mercanti may be not as extensive with that of other night markets such as Mercato and Banchetto. However, Il Mercanti compensates by providing more seats and wider dining area for the customers. Tables and seats are adequately provided. The dining atmopshere is also more relaxed and comfortable.

Some food exhibitors in Banchetto and Mercato are also found in Il Mercanti. Monster Burgers,  MedChef and Sweet Tums are among the few concessionaires I’ve found in other food night markets.

My personal favorite…..kill me now 😉

The only disadvantage I see in Il Mercanti is its location. Metrowalk is an area not favorable for commuters. The easiest mode of transportation is a cab or an FX taxi that routes to Ortigas Center. Although recently, I learned that the management  provides free shuttle services from the Raffles Corporate Center.

Il Mercanti targets mostly the group of young working professionals. However, since Il Mercanti is situated in a wider area, children can also enjoy the dining experience. It also operates as early as 7 pm so waiting long hours is not a problem.

I wasn’t by the way paid by Il Mercanti to write this post. My words here all resonate from my personal experience 😀

Have a great weekend to everyone. First weekend for 2012!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

