My 2011 in review

This is the first time I am doing this kind of post. I will try my best to recall and review the past 365 days of my life. Hopefully, this will become a successful and meaningful attempt.

January 2011 – I almost thought that my first month would turn out so monotonous and similar to that of my previous first months. After savoring my regular Christmas break, I will be back to work and teaching. I have tons of paper to check and outputs to follow up.

I felt so selfish because I kept thinking about myself. I almost forgot that this month marked the first death anniversary of my paternal grandmother.  I miss her terribly now…. Remembering the death of my grandmother led me to another unexpected death.  It was my first time to lose a friend… One of my few close colleagues passed away.

February 2011 – Month of hearts? Never and not really for me. The month with the least number of days brought me a lot of work. I was in a rush to beat deadlines. I have to check the papers of my students who are about to defend their Business Plans. At the same time, some heaven sent free lance works came. Since the month of graduation is coming, thesis consultancy works sprouted during this month.  Hopefully, the trend will remain this year.

Oh and I have to emphasize this, the feeling of being pathetic on that 14th day was gone because I was so engrossed with work. Now I found the best antidote for this heart disease. LOL

March 2011 – Relieved! My teaching chores is about to end. However, this period gives me both happiness and sadness. Happiness because I can finally rest from teaching. Sadness because the extra income from teaching is gone.

April 2011 – I terribly miss the additional income I have from teaching.  I was starting to get broke. I miss my shopping money. LOL Despite the fact that I have a screaming empty wallet, I was able to visit a new place. I was able to finally set foot to Puerto Galera.

May 2011 – My broke life continues….But I still found a reason to be happy because this blog celebrated it’s first anniversary!!!! I started the 30 day blog challenge and I believe most of my almost decent and meaningful posts were made in this month.

June 2011 – The birthday month of my Mother. I was so guilty because I cannot give her a decent celebration. I almost wanted to pull the opening of classes so that I could finally teach and earn the much needed money.

Me and my boss was transferred to another work station. Surprisingly, we were transferred to my old work post. Major revamps in the workplace also happened.

As a result of the major changes in the workplace, our office was tasked to spearhead a Strategic Planning activity. It was an out of town work held in my favorite Club Balai Isabel.

July 2011 – Got some great news! The National Cheng Kung University emailed a life changing news. They said that my paper was still considered for presentation in the 15th Asia Pacific Management Conference. I should be happy but deep inside, I wasn’t. I suddenly found myself half hearted of pursuing my dream.

And I almost forgot, this month happens to be my Dad’s birthday. Guilt again hit me because I wasn’t able to buy or provide a decent present to the greatest man in my life.

August 2011 – I worked so slow… The most awaited and much missed long weekend was found in this month. While other people are savoring it, I was left at home rushing and revising my paper. I was having a difficulty capturing my much needed spark in writing.

September 2011 – I was able to revise and submit my paper in time for the conference’s deadline. I was so happy and fulfilled! I never realized that there’s still so much work ahead of me…I’m talking about that elusive funding opportunities that started my Crayola Series.

I started my regular weekend jogging!

October 2011 –  The birth month of my special brother. I was again the guilty sister who felt that I wasn’t able to value and love him.

The sad Crayola series I started ended in this month. Just when I was ready to give up my dream of having my first international presentation, God gave me the funding opportunity I’ve been crying and begging for.

November 2011 – I can usually feel the spirit of Christmas during this month. I am in the mood for shopping and all those unnecessary spending I have struggled to remove in my life. For the first time,  I never felt any inch of excitement and anticipation for Christmas. I was full of nervousness and anxiety for the fulfillment of my dream. I was counting the days before November 30.

A day before my flight, we had the Annual Employees’ Awards Night. It was supposedly a time to drink and feast with my few close friends. I was perhaps the only employee who wasn’t excited about the event.  I was all restless and nervous.

December 2011 – The first day of December also gave me first time accomplishments. I was able to set foot in another country FOR THE FIRST TIME and ON MY OWN! The presentation was the main challenge… but for me, finding Tainan is the first major task to beat. In God’s grace, I was able to reach Tainan safe and was able to render my dream presentation.  Thank you Taiwan! 🙂

I know I may have forgotten some important details in my 2011.. To my dear close friends who are reading this, please feel free to comment and remind me. I will highly appreciate it.

To all those people who made my 2011, THANK YOU VERY MUCH! Cliche as it may sound, I wouldn’t be the person I am today without all of you.

2 thoughts on “My 2011 in review

  1. I am saddened to hear of your friend’s passing.
    And Puerto Galera. Eeee. I’ve been wanting to go. Any good?

    I can only wish you all the best in 2012, Diane. More trips and more income.

Leave a Reply

