Exploring the Historical Tainan

As promised, here’s the sequel of my blog post that relates my recent trip to Taiwan.

After the conference, the management of the National Cheng Kung University was gracious enough to give us a tour to some historic places in Tainan.

Our first stop was the Confucius Temple

One of the many entrance points to the Confucius Temple

The Facade of the Confucius Temple

I have always been mesmerized by the history and culture of the Chinese. The temple brings some of my childhood memories. When I was a kid, some local channels in the Philippines air Chinese drama series without any English translation every Sunday morning.  For some reason, I always watch these Chinese shows even though I don’t understand anything. I was contented and amazed by merely observing the actors’ costumes and the grand temples that serve as their constant setting.

According to our tourist guide, the temple was built in 1665 and it served as a school or as they call it, training ground for intellectuals.

Here are more pictures inside the temple

Feels like I’m part of a Chinese movie 😉

Do you notice anything with the structure? This three-storey structure was uniquely built. It’s first floor is square shaped, second floor is circular and the third is octagon shaped.

Our next stop was the Angping Fort.

This site became a central site of trading between China, Europe, and Japan. History however relates that this originally served as headquarters which aimed to protect Taiwan from foreign invaders.

and our last stop, For Provintia

It was the Dutch who led the establishment of this site in 1653. Today, the open space (as shown in the first picture) becomes a regular venue for night concerts.

After the tour, all the international delegates were treated to a sumptuous dinner. However, since my flight to Manila was scheduled at 1 am, I decided not to join the dinner. I rushed to the High Speed Rail Station as I was afraid to be left by my plane.  Even though my trip to Taiwan was literally a short visit, I already felt so accomplished. But if given another chance, I would love to visit and explore more places in Taiwan. If only I can remove the visa requirement and all those paper works. LOL

I hope you enjoyed my mini tour of Tainan.  I am currently on a two-week vacay, this is the best perk I enjoy as a result of working for an academic institution.  🙂 So far, I have wasted one week doing nothing booooo!

Leave a Reply

