Cherishing my Memories: The Lone Family Picture

I am making this post for my blog friend, Vivian, who happens to be one of my counted but valued followers in my other blog.

I said in my previous post that I am not made to write those emotional and heart warming pieces. Most of the time, I just end up making a forced dramatic post.  So please, pardon the cheesy drama coming.

My Family

This is our lone family picture. You can see my Nanay (mother), Kuya (brother), me and my Dad. Believe it or not, this is our only family picture. I can’t even recall the exact date when this photo was taken. If I would estimate, I think this was taken when I was around four years old.

I can give you plenty of excuses why we have one family picture in our entire lifetime. One lame excuse is because our family never owned a camera. We do not have that much in life and most of the time, my family’s resources are devoted for my studies. My parents invested so much on me because I am the only one who is capable to study. If you have read my previous post, you know the reason. My brother is a special kid. My parents have done everything to save him. It’s hurting, but we know God has his own reasons for everything.

On the less serious side, the reason why we only have one family picture is because my Dad is the biggest killed joy person in the world. 😀 I have a father who is so serious and unaffectionate. But as I grow up, I have learned to appreciate and love the unique person in him.

What I shared here is a plain family picture. Nothing fancy and unique for other people. But for me, this picture would remain as a signficant part of myself. This picture will always remind me of my humble beginnings. My family made me the person I am today. Everytime I look at this picture I see my Nanay, my first teacher, bestfriend and refuge, my Daddy who gave me the best parenting approach and worked hard to give me the best life and my special Kuya, who remains to be my inspiration and reminds me the real meaning of love.

Did you just become lactose intolerant because of so much cheesyness? Oh well, I have warned you. 😉

6 comments

  1. That picture is worth a thousand! This was not cheesy at all…it gave me better insight of who you are and where you come from! Thank you so much for sharing such a special thing about you and your family. Your parents must be so proud.

Leave a Reply

