Hair Rebonding: The promise of owning a temporary crowning glory

My super unruly hair! Making me inherit my paternal family’s ugly and curly hair is the only reason why I hate my Dad and my paternal family. 🙂 I don’t know if it’s a curse, but all of my female cousins are curly. On the contrary, my male cousins were blessed to have that most coveted straight and manageable hair. Oh Dear God, why did you make it that way?

One of my biggest nightmares is to be caught with my thick and curly hair after a long and deep sleep. I don’t look at the mirror every morning because I grew up knowing the what I would see. I want to start each day right, so I avoid seeing that monster in my head.

Thank God for technology. I could temporarily experience that long, straight and manageable hair through Hair Rebonding. I make it a point to have my hair rebonded once a year. You see, I am not one of the high maintenance members of the female populace. I don’t regularly visit the salon.  But once I made a visit, it would entail long hours of sitting and waiting.

In this post, I wanted to share some of my Hair Rebonding stories over the past years. By sharing my experiences, I hope other members of the female populace would learn something, share a similar experience and / or at the very least, feel at ease because they have someone to share their misery here. 🙂

My hair has been rebonded for five consecutive years, usually between the months of September to October. Why I chose these months is because my birthday falls on December. Since it’s my birthday, there is no question about my desire to have a great hair.

Another reason why I have my hair treated on the BER months is because we usually receive our performance incentive bonus. But sometimes, I am not comfortable having my hair treated after receiving our bonus. I hate it when people would tease and tell me, “ah we know where your money went.” Call me onion skinned but I don’t like gathering all those attention. I’m not comfortable when everyone notices me.

The five times my hair has been rebonded also meant five different stories to tell. Let me relate each with a warning : long post ahead.

My first hair rebond was done at F Salon. Since my hair was too thick, two stylists handled my hair. I felt ashamed especially when all the staff and clients were staring at me. It took an eternity of 6 hours to finish the entire treatment.  The results were fine except that after a few days, (WARNING: something GROSS) I felt small wounds near my nape. I allowed the wounds to heal by themselves and thankfully they did.

After a year, I was ready to return to F Salon. My second attempt was taken aback when I discovered a complaint from a client. The client experienced horrible and continuous hair breakage. I was forced to find another salon.  I landed in Reyes Haircutters (RH). I had two successful hair rebond from the salon. I was satisfied with the way they handled my hair. On my third attempt, RH Salon gave me a worst nightmare. That gorgon stylist rifted a significant portion of my hair in my nape. Thank God it was in my nape. I will not anymore relate the succeeding events that happened. I went as far as filing legal matters, but I wasn’t satisfied with the way things turned out.

I thought I found my trusted salon. After the traumatic experience, I was thinking whether I should continue my annual hair treatment. I was afraid of the possibility of becoming totally bald or having wounded scalp. Despite the threats and trauma, I still wanted to experience that great hair. My mother recommended a small salon that has been existing in our hometown for years. I took the risk and in God’s grace, the hair rebonding process went safe. My hair found a new home.

I went to the same salon yesterday for my annual hair treatment. The female stylist who handled my hair was unfortunately no longer connected with the company.  A gay stylist handled my hair and to my relief, everything went safe. Well, just almost… Hours after the hair rebond, I felt small wounds near my nape. I almost wanted to freak out. Will I get bald? Will this lead to psoriasis? Oh God, please, please no! Up to this time that I am typing this, I still feel a bit worried about my hair. My only consolation is that the wounds are small and they don’t feel sore or itchy. (I hope it would heal over the next days. If not, oh no nightmare!)

On my five years of getting a hair rebond, here’s what I have learned.

1. Choose your salon. The outcome of your hair depends on the stylist and the salon who will handle your hair. It’s good if you have friends who can refer you to good stylists.

2. One price for any length? I used to be a client of these types of promos. I have learned my lesson in the case of RH salon. If the price is too low like less than Php 1,000, I don’t think it can be trusted. It’s better to pay more, than suffer the consequences of a failed treatment.

3. Be observant! When the stylist applies all those creams in your hair, take note of each time of exposure. The lead time is around 15 mins for every treatment. If the chemical exposure exceeds 15 mins., there’s no harm in calling the attention of your stylist. When you feel any pain or itch in your head during any process, tell your stylist immediately.

4. Feel your scalp – After the hair rebonding treatment, you are not allowed to wash your hair for three days. With clean fingers, check for rough edges on your scalp. If you feel something unusual, have it checked by another person. Sometimes those rough edges are chemical residues. If this happens, have the area cleaned by a mild shampoo using a piece of cloth or cotton buds. This of course applies only in case you are still in the three-day-no-wash period. Monitor the small wounds everyday. If they are not healing, go back to your stylist or better yet, consult a dermatologist. If something in your scalp feels itchy, have it checked and don’t scratch or touch it unclean hands. This might further promote infections.

5. Settle to one stylist – This is hard because stylists get transferred to other branches or worst they resign from their salons. But I feel that it’s best when only one person handles your hair. The person becomes familiar with the condition of your hair and scalp. Hence, he/she knows how to handle the treatment.

6. Tell everything to your stylist – If you are prone to falling hair, sensitive scalp tell everything to your stylist before the treatment. The date of your previous hair treatments, allergic reactions and other hair treatments you had. It’s best to tell them everything to ensure a safe treatment.

7. If worst comes to worst? – Hopefully not. It pays to know the owner or the manager of the salon. When problems persist, it’s better to talk to the salon owner than the stylist. Trust me, I’ve experienced one. A warning though, some managers and salon owners are not customer service oriented people. The owner of RH salon never had the balls to face me in person. He always sends different (and sorry) futile staff during hearings. Hello owner? Your staff can’t even take a decision in behalf of the company.  How can we resolve the issue?  Oh well, I think that was the strategy of the company. You have intentions to belittle and ignore powerless clients.  I guess owner is concerned with increasing his branches than dealing with maltreated clients. Well then, good luck and I wish you more unhappy clients. Oh let us spare the clients, what I’d like to say is I wish that their clients find better salons.

I still suggest that you report failed hair treatments to the owners because they are more concerned over the company. Their life and future are at stake in cases of failed hair treatment. Cases like these should be dealt on a higher level.

For treatment, the dermatologist is your go to person in worst cases. Consult a dermatologist immediately and pray that things will be fine. If you have rebonding misery stories, you may also email and comment on my blog. I will be a good listener and hopefully I could help. 🙂

So far, these are what I can share on my five years of hair rebonding. In the next years, I hope I could still receive SAFE and EFFECTIVE hair rebonding procedures. Better yet, if technology can bring a system that is better than hair rebonding then why not? All for the dream of owning the best crowning glory!

16 thoughts on “Hair Rebonding: The promise of owning a temporary crowning glory

  1. Wow-6 hours! I complain about 2 when I get my hair highlighted. Since moving to the south I have considered re-bonding. In the north my hair was stick straight, not like the humidity frizz I have now. Hair is so important & a huge self -esteem source. When I lost mine to chemo, people laughed it off since there were more important players on the table-like saving my life. I however, mourned my long blond hair! I hope that everything turns out well for you, please keep us updated.

    • Yes an eternity of 6 hours when I had my first hair rebond. However, I found a better salon that can handle it in a max of 4 hours. Still entails long hours, but way better than the 6 hours 🙂 As of now, my hair is back to its unruly shape 😀 I’m looking forward to my next rebond perhaps on August or September. Hopefully (pray for me hahaha) it would get better. Thanks for commenting and digging in this old post 🙂

  2. It is true.. I am glad to hear your story through this blog! 🙂 I really felt not alone in reading this.. You are really a good writer and i hope someday i can be like you! i hope to see your blog about stress boosters.. and how to avoid people who are judgmental.. I’ve also read your blog about your goals and it inspire me to make also mine.. GOD BLESS!

    • Hi Gwen! Thanks a lot. Your comment made me happy!!! It came in time as I was having a another bad day.

      I would love to see you in the blogosphere as well. Perhaps, it’s time to start your own blog 🙂 and about your suggested topic, i will include that on my list of topics to write.

      Have a great week beautiful!

  3. I rebonded my hair last october 26.2012 and the outome is so fizzy and brittle, and I want to retouch . Is it posibe if I have my rebond as soon as possible ? I mean , can I have my rebond treatment again even without a month before my last rebond ?

    • Hi F! I admit that I’m not the best person to answer your query. What I shared here are based on my personal experiences. Its best to consult the real experts. You might try consulting other stylists from other trusted salons.

      Based from my personal experience, the hair becomes brittle on the initial months after the rebond. I believe it’s because of all the chemicals applied. To address this, I was taught by my stylist to prevent activities that will promote hair breakage. Don’t iron your hair, avoid excessive brushing and combing especially when your hair is wet. I was told that hair is more brittle when wet. As to the fizzy hair, I’m not sure but it might be caused by the hair breakage.

      As for a possible retouch? If I were in your shoes, I won’t go for another rebond in less than 6 months time. Your hair is still exposed from the chemicals and it might not help if you will give your hair another dose of it. What I suggest is you go for after treatments like hair spa to make your hair softer and hopefully address all those problems.

  4. hi , i got my hair rebonded in july this year from schwarzkopf (lakme). now in all these months post rebonding .. I am suffering from terrible hair fall .. please help me and suggest me what to do ??

    • i also experience hair fall on the first few weeks after i had my hair rebonded. in order to address this, i usually use anti-hair fall shampoo and conditioner. i recommend human nature because it works for me. if the hair fall is getting worst, i suggest you consult another hair stylist.

  5. Hi there! Is this thread still alive? I am a 26 year-old female hairstylist and I can help you with some of your questions. Basically, I’d like to say that if you asked for a hair rebonding service, you should not experience wound on your scalp. Why am I saying this? The proper rebonding process is that, the chemical we apply should NEVER touch your scalp during application. Professionals apply it 0.5-1 inch away from the scalp. And just in case this happens, the stylist can easily dampen that area and wipe it with a towel. But the RULE is that it should not touch the scalp. IF and only IF you experience itching or pain then eventually a scaly and wounded scalp, sorry to say but… they gave you a RELAX service, not the one you asked for.

    That’s all for now. Hope this helps! ^^,

    • Hi Uhrah, If not only some parts of my scalp has patches of redness and it ache Plus my hair at e root is bent at 90 degree my stylish say it’s common.
      I would like to seek ur opinion as it feels spiky when I try touching my scalp and it become plastered also.

      • Hi veron!

        Oh my, we are sharing the same experience. I believe that the spiky feel and the angular position of our a newly rebonded hair is attributed to the fact that a little part of our hair was not exposed to the chemical and the ironing process. It represents the part of our hair that cannot be reached by the treatment.

      • Hihi….I also suffer from this and some of the hair broke in the front – the bent hair. I have asked around, seems the hair was over processed. How did you manage to deal with it in the end may I ask?

      • When it feels spiky and it seems that that edge part of the hair is weak.. then it means that the iron stayed too long on that area or the heat of the iron was too high.. OR most commonly, the stylist was ironing your hair at a wrong angle. And as proof to the last possible reason I mentioned, this spike would only be found at the top part of ur head and not around it.. coz some stylists dont know how to position their iron.

        Geez sorry for the late response. Haha peace!

      • Hi Jajams! Rebonded hair really has high chance to feel rough and dry after some months. My suggestion is to regularly go for hair treatment such as hair spa. The DIY at home hair spa treatment sold in Watsons and other drug stores could also work but it still feels different though when you had it treated over the salon. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

