Ristorante delle Mitre: Reviewed

Last Thursday, I tagged my friend Abigail to a restaurant that has been the subject of my curiosity for the past months. A colleague and a TV feature have convinced me to visit a restaurant that is owned and operated by the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines (CBCP). The restaurant is within the historic Intramuros. It is particularly situated across the San Agustin Church and beside the headquarters of the CBCP.

Here are some of the pictures I have taken

The restaurant occupies a limited space but each corner was maximized with details of elegance.

The interiors of the place heavily utilized wood and different Catholic religious items are seen in almost every corner.

Have you noticed the bright portion of the ceiling? The bright ceiling houses this intricate painting.

Though the restaurant has a Catholic theme, the overall ambiance of the restaurant was still homey, relaxing and perfect for quiet and small group lunch or dinner.

These are mitres, the hats that priests wear during liturgical celebrations. This is where the name of the restaurant originated. 

The menu The prices of the food are relatively affordable.

The amount of servings is in my opinion the main weakness of Ristorante delle Mitre. The relatively lower prices does not after all guarantee more than enough food servings.

Here’s what Abigail and I had for dinner

Crispy Calamares in Sweet Chili Sauce for Php 108, a proof of the not so generous servings. This meal by the way comes with a glass of Iced Tea. In terms of taste, I’ll give it 3 out of 5 stars. The few pieces of calamares were lack the tenderness and crispiness that I am expecting.  

For dessert I had Mango Crepe

The two slices of Mango Crepe cost Php 68. Reasonable enough when price and quantity are considered. But in terms of taste, I’ll give it an average rating only. The pancake wrap was too thick and I could barely taste the few mango slices.

I didn’t try their pasta and salad dishes. Perhaps on my next visit, I’ll see whether the servings and taste of the other dishes are better than what I have ordered.

The restaurant also serves cakes. I didn’t try them too because I find the slices too pricey. Cakes cost around Php 128 to Php 148 per slice and the sizes are likewise too small.

Customer service is the best asset of the restaurant. When we entered the place, we were greeted by a nun and a very accommodating waiter ushered us to our seat. To my surprise, the waiter has a hearing disability. I learned that the restaurant provide employment opportunities to our brothers and sisters who have hearing disabilities. I commend them for this act of kindness and understanding.

My final evaluation, I’ll give Ristorante delle Mitre 3 out of 5 stars. The place exhibits a great ambiance for dining. It’s situated at the heart of the historic Intramuros that gives you more than enough reason to try the restaurant.

One comment

Leave a Reply

