Something that brought me back to life…

It was a seminar day at work for me last Friday, August 6, 2010. When I say it’s a seminar day, I wasn’t the one who is comfortably sitting, listening, daydreaming and waiting for the free snacks and meals. I was rather one of the organizers of the seminar. Together with my lone officemate, we call ourselves as the slaves and runners. We ensure that everything needed by the speaker and participants are provided. The venue of the seminar is like two buildings away from our office. So, from time to time, we have to walk back and forth to the venue and the office.

It was one tiring day. After the seminar, we went back to the office carrying our seminar materials, laptop, excess handouts, evaluation instruments and other pertinent documents. After organizing my things, I logged in to my desktop computer to check out my yahoo, twitter and  Facebook . For some reasons, I can’t last a day without ever checking my accounts even through my mobile phone.

It’s very unusual for me but on that day, I failed to check one my accounts, my company/office webmail. Since it was a Friday,  I will not be able to check my office email for two days. I don’t usually check my office email on weekends. I view my office emails through Microsoft Outlook. This perhaps could explain why my inbox is always empty whenever I view my webmail through Internet Explorer. So even though, I am tempted to open my office email on a weekend, I can’t do so. Unless I would be bringing home my office desktop computer.  😉

After checking my Yahoo, Twitter, Facebook and WordPress, I decided to go home. Not until Abigail called me up and was asking if we could go home together. I said ok, but remembered that I need to drop by the mall to buy a gift for a relative, who is turning 60. Abigail had no choice but to join me.

I always look forward for Fridays, because it marks the end of workweek and it signals the beginning of my weekends. Apart from being a Friday, another reason why I was so happy that Friday is because I got a pay. I received my consultancy pay from an officemate whom I assisted in her thesis. Yahoo, two reasons to be happy!

The weekend came and my Sunday became the highlight. I was able to treat my family to our favorite, Mama Chits’ Burger.  Mama Chits’ burgers and nachos salad on a rainy Sunday afternoon, simply perfect!

Sunday night and tomorrow it would be Monday. It’s back to normal life again and I realized that I had a lot of papers to check. Monday morning to work,  I was late. Ok, what’s new? I logged in to my desktop computer, check my accounts and realized that I haven’t checked my office webmail account for three straight days. As I logged in my password, I saw a lot of mails coming in.

Yawning, yawning, yawning, while the mails are downloading. I saw one email from  “Mr. Something.” The subject said “Acceptance Letter.” Wait! Wait! Wait! I opened it and read that my research paper was accepted for presentation to an international conference! Is this true? I closed my MS Outlook and opened it again. (So weird and crazy of me!) It’s there! It’s true! I printed the email and showed it to my lone officemate. Words could never describe the happiness I felt that time. I admit that I never felt such happiness in the last few months or even years. Heaven! Thanks be to God!

I however realized that I should hold off to my heavenly status. I have a lot to prepare, the full paper, powerpoint and unending prayers. I just have one wish, not to look stupid on that day. I am representing my workplace and the country. Please don’t allow it Lord.  Opportunities like this don’t often come to rank and file employees like me. Please help me prepare and iron out things well before the presentation. Please, no hindrances and unnecessary impediments, Lord.

The great news even gave me a teary-eyed moment. I texted my nanay (mother) to inform her of what I just received. My nanay just recently learned to master the task ot “texting.” Just seconds after, she replied and congratulated me. It was the first time I received a congratulatory remark from my nanay. I know she is silently proud of me, but to directly read and feel it, it’s different. Mothers are flattered and overwhelmed by the achievements of their children. Children likewise share the same feeling whenever they are verbally appreciated by their parents. In my case, since I am not a natural born achiever, these few instances become pieces of memorable moments for me. As Cecelia Ahern said in her novel, There’s No Place Like Here, life is not filled with perfect little moments, if they were they would no longer be considered as perfect little moments. 

After receiving this great opportunity, I realized the wonders of  God’s plan for me.  I have my own share of agonies. Only God and my close friends knew this.  I have my own share of crying moments on the last quarter of 2009 up to this year. Perhaps, this is God’s rebound to me. He may have closed other doors and subjected me to a lot of trials recently. If this is it, I thank Him not just for the opportunity but for bringing me back to life.

2 thoughts on “Something that brought me back to life…

Leave a Reply

