My Beautiful Sunday Served with Great Food and Friendship

              My meet up with Anna was something I have been looking forward this week. The last time I met Anna was October of last year. I really miss my dear friend. A number of occasions have already passed. She may not know it but I miss our malling, eating and movie escapades.  But more importantly, I miss her, the entire her…

            Anna and Anne have been mentioning to me the delicious burgers sold near Anna’s place. I am one burger addict. I’d like to try out burgers of different fastfood chains and restaurants. This likewise reminds me of another friend Clara, who now explores life in Singapore. I hope you will be able to read this friend. This could equate to your Bongo Burgers! 

            I initially thought that the burgers, which Anna and Anne were referring, were sold in the typical burger stands. Perhaps, a homemade or a typical burger offered with a new twist. Their descriptions still did not excite me. It made me simply curious. 

              I finally got a taste of my friends’ most talked about burgers and to describe it in three words, I love it!!!!            

              I’ve already composed four paragraphs and I’ve noticed that I still failed to mention the name of the restaurant that sells this “I love it” burgers. It’s neither a burger stand nor a fastfood chain; it’s a coffee shop that goes by the name, Mama Chit’s Coffee House. 

            Mama Chit’s Coffee House joins the bandwagon of the Philippines’ booming coffee industry. However, my honest opinion is that Mama Chit’s is more than a coffee shop. In fact, I cannot anymore see it as a coffee house. It offers the typical coffee and fraps. However, it also extends its product offering to pasta, pizza, salads, finger foods (such as potato wedges, onion rings), and of course, burgers! If I would equate it to the existing coffee shops, Mama Chit’s is like Mocha Blends and The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. I have however noticed that Mama Chit’s is more known for its burgers than its coffee and fraps. More customers are ordering burgers than their coffee drinks. 

            Mama Chit’s Coffee House offers cheeseburger and hamburger in two sizes. The baby cheeseburger costs Php 55 ($ 1) while the bigger burger costs around Php 100 ($ 2). In my opinion, the prices are reasonable and affordable enough. For a start, I ordered the baby burger, which picture is shown below. 

 

            The burger fares well with Wham! and Brother’s Burgers. It has veggies and sauce mixture that blend and taste perfectly. Apart from the burgers, we also ordered a plate of Nachos. Their nachos are a bit different from Nacho King, Taco Bell and Wendy’s. Apart from the beef and veggies, it has carrot strips, pineapple chunks and apple slices. Does it seem to taste weird? Not really, the bits of pineapple and apples were able to balance beef and veggie overload.  A plate of nachos costs Php 120 ($2), which for me is affordable enough. 

            As  I browsed through their menu, I think their prices are reasonable and affordable enough. The servings are likewise sufficient enough to fare the prices. A budget of Php 500 ($ 10) for two individuals would already go a long way. 

            Apart from the great and affordable food at Mama Chit’s Coffee House, its interiors and set-up is another attraction. The coffee house was dressed somewhere in time. It’s elegantly and fascinatingly retro! Mama Chit’s Coffee House showcases different memorabilia that reminds me of circa 60s to 80s. It has framed black and white pictures of perhaps the family of the owner, frames of old cigarette advertisements, old paper labels of wines, old soda and beer cans, music plaques, an old telephone, and other antique pieces too. 

  

            

  

            When you dine  at Mama Chit’s Coffee House, you will be serenaded by no other than the lively music of  The Beatles and other foreign retro artists. When we were eating, Daniel Boone’s  Beautiful Sunday was playing which perfectly complemented the atmosphere. 

            We stayed at Mama Chit’s for less than an hour. However, I felt that I could manage to stay there longer. The place was built with a concept of somewhere in time theme.  However, it doesn’t give me an odd out of place feeling. Honestly, when I was there, I felt that I was in a Hollywood movie showcasing a county restaurant that temporarily sheltered a tired traveler. 

            Apart from reuniting with a dear friend, Mama Chit’s Coffee House made me sang (only in my mind:-p), my my my beautiful sunday.. this is my my my beautiful day! It was indeed a beautiful sunday, served with great food, and topped with a rekindled friendship.

Mama Chit’s Coffee House is located at J.P. Rizal St. Brgy. San Roque, Marikina City, Philippines. It’s a few steps from Our Lady of the Abandoned Parish and the  Marikina Shoe Museum. If you are taking a public transportation, a jeepney that routes to Calumpang Marikina City from Cubao or Katipunan LRT station would directly pass Mama Chit’s Coffee House.

2 comments

  1. i’m happy that you liked the burger! hope to see you next time at mama chit’s again or in cafe lidia with anne! miss you diane!

    1. I love burgers!!! Like you said, we have same taste for food. I am looking forward for more pigging out sessions!

Leave a Reply

