Packaging Notepads Unlimited – An Internet and Divisoria Learning

Business is already starting for Notepads Unlimited. However, I wasn’t contented with my first few outputs. When I gave out my first notepads, I simply wrapped them on plastic covers for books. Although the plastic cover is already sufficient to protect the notepads, I felt that the notepads do not look presentable with the scotch tapes and folds on the edges. Using again the Internet as my primary source of information, I searched for stores that sell resealable plastics. I tried searching for supermarkets and bookstores through their websites.Unfortunately here in the Philippines, supermarkets and other shops do not really take advantage of the Internet. This is something I want to suggest among supermarkets and even small shops. They would be in a better off position if they establish an active online presence. All businesses should maintain a website that updated contact numbers and the products and services they offer. Apart from providing a list of product offerings, it is important that prices and specifications are available. I think customers would also appreciate having an online inventory. This means that stocks of different shops would be available online. Customers would already be directed to the right branch or store. Customers could save time and shops would experience better sales too. Some shops such as National Bookstore has already implemented this concept in their books and a few common office supplies. However, the concept of having an online inventory for customers is I think not yet implemented in the Philippines.

After almost a day of searching the ‘net, I was directed to the forum of Entrepreneur Magazine. I found a thread that discusses the importance of finding durable packaging materials for products such as T-shirts. A participant asked where to purchase resealabe plastics. One respondent mentioned that there is a store in Divisoria that specifically sells plastic products and other packaging materials. The name of the store is Plastic Queen and situated in front of the Tutuban Center Mall.

I searched for Plastic Queen in the listing of companies in the Philippines but I got no results (See the importance of Internet suppliers. I’m sure I’m not the first person who made this attempt). I decided to seek help from my workplace friend, Abigail. I asked her to accompany me to Divisoria to search for Plastic Queen. I cannot remember the exact date when we went to Divisoria. But on that day, as soon as the clock hit 5:30, I rushed out of the office and we took a ride to Divisoria. We walked the busy, narrow and populated streets of Divisoria to search for Plastic Queen. Along the way, we found some stores selling plastic materials. We dropped by two stores and unfortunately they do not sell resealable plastics. 😦 I was beginning to feel that I’ll end up going home with nothing.

We finally reached the street of Tutuban Center Mall. I was beginning to become hopeless since we are nearing the end of street. After the long walk, I saw the sign! The sign reads Plastic Queen Marketing. I walked as fast as I could  fearing that the store will already close at 6pm. Praying while walking, the store was still open!

The saleslady was fairly patient and accommodating, an improvement of my previous encounters. She immediately showed me different sizes of resealable plastic and whew! There were too many sizes. I cannot decide what size to purchase. If I am not mistaken there were more than 20 sizes of resealable plastics available. What’s worse is that I forgot to bring a notepad sample. However, when I looked in my bag I saw folded pieces of short bond paper. A good substitute!? I tried the folded paper and it fits 2 or 3 sizes. Which size to purchase? One thing I noticed about the resealable plastics is that only the length adjusts. The width was less likely to change. Three to five sizes have the same width but of different lengths. With the help of Abigail, I chose two sizes, one for the 4 X 5.5 (half bond paper) and 1/4 of a short bond paper size. By the way, Plastic Queen is a wholesaler. The minimum number of purchase is 1 pack containing 100 plastics.

I was the last customer of the store. After I made the purchase, they pulled down their accordion and closed at 6:30 pm.

It was a mini-adventure for me. After the breathtaking walk, we went to Tutuban Center Mall, had dinner at Jollibee and talked about some work related issues 😉

7 comments

  1. Wow Diane! This is very helpful. I’m into craft making and would someday love to sell my work, at least try hehe. You’re such a great help! I’ll visit this store when I get to Divi. 🙂

    PS: I agree with your concept of suppliers maximizing the internet however, it is relatively more helpful too, if the websites they use are not social networking sites (which is by the way blocked in our office hehe) 😉

    1. Hi Jenn! Thanks for reading my posts. Natuwa ako sobra. At least I now know that I am not the only person reading this. Hahahaha

      Actually, I recently discovered that Plastic Queen has a nearer branch. In Sta. Cruz Manila, walking distance from Recto LRT station. I can come with you if you want.

  2. Omg this is so helpful! Do you mind giving me the store address, or at least a description of the location of Plastic Queen? Thank you so much!

    1. Hi Samantha! I’m not sure with the exact address of Plastic Queen. They actually have two branches in Manila. The branch that we visited is the one near the entrance of Tutuban Center Mall. The second branch we discovered after our Divisoria experience along the Carriedo Station of the Lrt, which for me is more convenient if your intention is to shop for plastic pieces only.

    2. Hi Samantha! I’m not sure with the address in their Divisoria branch. Your landmark would be the Tutuban Center Mall. Once you are in the main entrance, it’s easier for you to view their shop.

      Their other branch is along Carriedo to Sta. Cruz. Here’s the exact address
      #424 RIZAL AVENUE, SANTA CRUZ
      It’s near the Carriedo LRT Station.

      1. Plastic Queen branch in D. Jose LRT station is gone. It has been replaced by a Hotel.. Sad.. Just went there hoping to buy resealable plastic. I’ll try my luck and go to their Carriedo LRT branch. Thank you diane for your headsup..

  3. Hi diane…nku sana alm mo rin tong itatanong ko.im planning personalized planners business..small time lng nmn.un bang sinsbi mong resealable plastic is like plastic cover na detachable?ung notebook jacket?kung un nga,that is exactly what im looking for..mganda nga rin sana ung parang leather..tnx sau..hope to find answer..

Leave a Reply

